Faculty

Mary F. Ehrlander, Ph.D.

Director of Arctic and Northern Studies
Professor of History
University of Alaska Fairbanks
PO Box 756460
Fairbanks, AK 99775
907-474-6556
mfehrlander@alaska.edu

Size: 53.0K bytes Modified: 2 February 2015, 13:54

Courses taught by Dr. Mary F. Ehrlander

HIST 131/132

History of the United States
NORS 201The Circumpolar North: An Introductory Overview

HIST 404  

Modern Scandinavia
HIST 434Canada: 1867 – Present
NORS/HIST 48320th Century Circumpolar History
NORS/HIST 600

Perspectives on the North

Terrence M. Cole, Ph.D.

Professor of History
Director, Office of Public History
P.O. Box 756460
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Fairbanks, AK 99775
tmcole@alaska.edu

Size: 51.0K bytes Modified: 2 February 2015, 14:03

Courses taught by Dr. Terrence M. Cole

History 100X                  

Modern World History

HIST 461/NORS 661                  

History of Alaska

HIST 481/NORS 681Polar Exploration and its Literature
HIST 490/NORS 690Researching and Writing Northern History

Professor Emeritus

Judith S. Kleinfeld, Ph.D.
http://www.judithkleinfeld.com/

Gerald (Jerry) McBeath, Ph. D.
gamcbeath@alaska.edu

William Schneider, Ph.D.
wsschneider@alaska.edu

Affiliated Faculty


Brandon Boylan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science
bmboylan@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  Government and Politics of Russia; Research Methods; Peace, War and Security; Int'l Relations of the North

Research specialties and interests: Int'l relations, int'l security, political violence, terrorism, and ethnic conflict.


Diana Di Stefano, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History
dldistefano@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  Environmental History;  Perspectives on History;  North American Disasters

Research specialties and interests: Environmental, American West, and Disaster history


John Heaton, Ph.D.
Professor of History and Executive Director of the Western History Association
jwheaton2@alaska.edu

Courses taught: History of Alaska Natives;  American Film history

Research specialties and interests:  Native American economics and culture, Native American history


Eric Heyne, Ph.D.

Professor of English
efheyne@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu/english/people/faculty/heyne/

Courses taught:  Alaskan and Northern Canadian Literature; Images of the North

Research specialities and interests:  Alaskan and northern Canadian literature, American literature and critical theory


Alexander Hirsch, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science
ahirsch@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  U.S. Environmental Politics;  Ethics in International Affairs

Research specialties and interests: Moral conflicts generated over the meaning of public pain;  aboriginal peoples living in Western settler societies

Zoë Marie Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Art
zjones@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  Visual Images of the North, Alaska Native Art, Alaskan Field Artists

Research specialties: 20th Century art, immigrant artistic communities, art created in times of conflict


Brian Kassof, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of History
bkassof@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  Imperial Russia 1700-1917; Soviet and Post-Soviet Russia


Amy Lovecraft, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
allovecraft@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  Science, Technology and Politics;  Government and Politics of Canada

Research specialties and interests:  Policy research: wildland fire, sea ice, marine mammals, freshwater systems & transnational environmental regimes; Environmental political theory addressing rapid change and the far North.


Chanda Meek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science
clmeek@alaska.edu

Courses taught:  Arctic Politics and Governance; Government and Politics of Russia;  US Environmental Politics

Research specialties and interests: Resilience of Northern social-ecological systems, natural resource & environmental policy & politics, human dimensions of wildlife mgmt., indigenous-state power-sharing arrangements, cross-scale policy implementation


James Ruppert, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Alaska Native Studies
jkruppert@alaska.edu
www.alaska.edu/english/people/faculty/ruppert/

Courses taught: Images of the North

Research specialties and interests:  Alaska Native Studies; Oral Narratives; Travel Narratives


Jennifer Schell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of English
jschell5@alaska.edu

Courses taught: Literature of Alaska and the Yukon Territory

Research specialties and interests:  Alaskan maritime literature; science writing about arctic ecosystems; ecogothic literature; extinction narratives; animal studies; and print culture

Back to Top