Linguistics Program

Faculty


Anna Berge, Associate Professor of Linguistics

Anna Berge

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1998
Eskimo-Aleut languages, syntax, discourse.

Brooks 421 amberge@alaska.edu 474-5351


Walkie Charles, Assistant Professor of Yup'ik

PhD in Applied Linguistics, UAF, 2011. 

Dynamic Assessment, Sociocultural Theory, and Yugtun (Yup'ik Eskimo) Language teaching and learning. 

Undergraduate Advisor.

107A Brooks, 907-474-7170

swcharles@alaska.edu


Burns Cooper, Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Texas 1989
Forensic linguistics, poetics, intonation
Gruening 858 gbcooper@alaska.edu 474-5303

Faculty webpage


Gary Holton, Professor of Linguistics

Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara 2000
Director, Alaska Native Language Archive
Athabascan and Papuan languages, morphology, argument structure, discourse, language revitalization.

Brooks 306B, gmholton [at] alaska.edu, 474-6585

Faculty Website


Duff Johnston, Assistant Professor of English and Linguistics

Ph.D. in Applied Linguistics, Pennsylvania State University 2011

Gruening 866   djohnston2@alaska.edu 474-5235


Lawrence Kaplan, Professor of Linguistics

Director, Alaska Native Language Center

Ph.D. University of California, San Diego 1979.
Inupiaq language, Comparative Eskimo, language policy and planning.

Undergraduate Advisor.
Brooks 425 ldkaplan@alaska.edu 474-6582


Patrick Marlow, Associate Professor of Linguistics, Program Chair

Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1997.
Historical linguistics, indigenous language teacher training.

Brooks 306F pemarlow@alaska.edu 474-7446


Wendy Martelle, Term Assistant Professor of Linguistics

PhD University of Pittsburgh 2011
Second Language Acquisition, Russian Linguistics, Tense-Aspect Morphology
Brooks 306D  wmmartelle@alaska.edu  474-6604

Robin Shoaps, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Ph.D. University of California Santa Barbara, 2004.
Linguistic anthropology, anthropology of Christianity, discourse analysis, self and subjectivity, ethnography of moralities, indigenous languages and cultures; Mesoamerica and the United States

Eielson   rashoaps@alaska.edu 474-6884


Sabine Siekmann, Assistant Professor of Linguistics & Foreign Languages

Ph.D. University of South Florida 2004.
Second language acquisition, computer assisted language learning
Brooks 306D ssiekmann@alaska.edu 474-6580

Faculty webpage

On leave 2013-214


Siri Tuttle, Associate Professor of Linguistics

Ph.D. University of Washington 1998.
Phonology, Athabascan linguistics
Brooks 419 sgtuttle@alaska.edu 474-5708

On Sabbatical 2013-2014

Faculty webpage