Department of Geology & Geophysics

Cooperating faculty

 

A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z


 

A

Dr. Mohabbat Ahmadi, Assistant Professor

Department of Petroleum Engineering

Contact: mahmadi@alaska.edu or (907) 474-1903

Teaching:  PETE 683 - Natural Gas Processing and Engineering, PETE 683 - Natural Gas Engineering, PETE 487- Senior Project Design, PETE 476 Petroleum Reservoir Engineering

Research: Conventional and Unconventional Gas Resources Development, Supercritical CO2 EOR/Sequestration, Enhanced Oil Recovery

Curriculum Vitae

Research website


 

Dr. Anthony Arendt, Research Associate Professor

Dr. Anthony Arendt

Geophysical Institute

Contact: arendta@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7427

Teaching:

Research: Glaciers, mass balance, sea level rise, remote sensing for hydrological modeling, validation of high-resolution satellite gravimetry (GRACE) data, and development of aircraft and satellite laser altimetry mass balance methods.

Curriculum Vitae

Research website


 

B

 

Dr. Jeffrey A. Benowitz, Research Associate

Geophysical Institute

Contact:  jbenowitz@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7010

Teaching:

Research: Thermochronology and geochronology and tectonic/climate applications. Post-doctoral Fellow Tectonic and Sedimentation /Geochronology Facility Lab Manager

Research Website


Dr. Uma Bhatt, Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Dr. Uma Bhatt, Assoc. Prof. of Atmospheric Sciences

Department

Contact: usbhatt@alaska.edu or (907) 474-2662

Teaching:

Research: Climate ariability

Curriculum Vitae

Researh website


 

Dr. Nancy Bigelow, Research Professional

Alaska Quaternary Center, UAF

Contact: nhbigelow@alaska.edu or (907) 474-5433

Teaching:

Research: Arctic paleoecology, palynology, vegetation history, and ecosystem reponses to climate change during the Quaternary period

AQC website


Dr. Andrew Bliss, Post-Doctoral Fellow

Andrew Bliss

Geophysical Institute

Contact: abliss@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7679

Teaching:

Research: Glaciers, mass balance, and climate change. Post-doctoral Fellow, Snow, Ice & Permafrost

Glaciers Group (GI) website


Dr. Ed Bueler, Associate Professor of Mathematics

Dr. Ed Bueler

Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics

Contact: elbueler@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7693

Teaching: Math 615 Applied (Continuum) Numerical Analysis

Research: Ice flow, partial differential equations, variational inequalities, delay differential equations, and the numerical analysis thereof.

DMS website


 

C

Dr. Catherine Cahill, Professor of Chemistry

Dr. Catherine Cahill, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Contact: cfcahill@alaska.edu or (907) 474-6905

Teaching:

Research: Atmospheric aerosols and their impacts on visibility, global climate, and human heath

Curriculum Vitae

Faculty page


Dr. Jordi Cristobal Rossello, Research Assistant Professor

Remote Sensing, Geophysical Institute

Research:   actual evaportranspiration modeling in natural vegetation covers by means of medium and coarse spatial resolution remote sensing data and GIS modeling, monitoring of water resources and droughts and snow cover mapping from long time series of satellite images

Contact:  Jordi.Cristobal@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-1522

Curriculum Vitae


 

D - E

Dr. Margaret M. Darrow, Associate Professor

Institute of Northern Engineering

Contact: margaret.darrow@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7303

Teaching:

Research: Behavior of unfrozen water in frozen soils, Frost heaving, Soil physics, Slope stability in frozen ground, Thermal analysis of engineered structures over frozen ground

Curriculum Vitae

Faculty page


Dr. Kenneson Dean, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Kenneson Dean, Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact:  ken dean@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7364

Teaching:

Research: Volcanic eruption monitoring

Faculty page


 

Dr. Jonathan Dehn, Research Associate Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact:  jdehn@alaska.edu or (907) 474-6499

Teaching:

Research: Volcanic eruption monitoring

Faculty page


Dr. John Eichelberger, Dean

Graduate School

Contact:  (907) 474-7729

Research: Volcanic eruption monitoring

Graduate School page


 

F

Dr. David Fee, Research Assistant Professor

Dr. David Fee, Assistant Professor

Wilson Infrasound Observatories, Geophysical Institute

Contact: dfee@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7564

Teaching:

Research: Volcano infrasound, infrasound propagation and infrasound signal detection and classification

Personal Website


 

G

 

Dr. Rudiger Gens, Remote Sensing Scientist

Dr. Rudiger Gens, Remote Sensing Scientist

Alaska Satellite Facility, Geophysical Institute

Contact: rgens@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7621

Teaching:

Research: Remote sensing and geographic information systems, specializing in microwave remote sensing

Curriculum Vitae

Faculty page


 

H


Dr. Michael C. Hatfield, Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Earth & Planetary Remote Sensing Group

Geophysical Institute

Contact:  mchatfield@alaska.edu or (937) 432-5065

Sarah M. Hayes, Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Contact: smhayes3@.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7188

Teaching:  Analytical Chemistry, CHEM 212 Fall 2012 and Instrumental Analysis CHEM 413 Spring 2013

Research:  Effects of mineral weathering on the mobility and bioaccessibility of toxic metals in geomedia (e.g., soils, mine tailings, and dusts).  Geochemistry of tellurium.

Faculty page


 

Dr. Robert Herrick, Research Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact: rherrick@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-6445

Teaching:  

Research: Impact cratering process and the resurfacing histories of the planets

Faculty page


Dr. Larry D. Hinzman, Director

International Arctic Research Center
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Contacthinzman@iarc.uaf.edu or (907) 474-7331

Research: 
Hydrology: Extensive experience in field research and modeling surface and subsurface flow, emphasis upon permafrost hydrology, arctic and subarctic meteorological processes.

Soil Science and Permafrost: Proficiency in thermal analysis through numerical and analytical solutions. Soil Physics and Soil Chemistry.

IARC Page


Dr. Larissa Horstmann-Dehn

Institute of Marine Science, School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences

Contact:  lara.horstmann@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7724
 

Research:  I am interested in broad-scale marine mammal ecology.  I focus my research on Arctic marine mammals, because 1) they are of cultural and nutritional importance to subsistence users, 2) the Arctic is undergoing noticeable change, and 3) planned oil and gas development in this habitat
 

Faculty Page


 

I

 

Dr. Pavel Izbekov, Research Associate

Alaska Volcano Observatory, Geophysical Institute

Contact: pavel@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-5269

Teaching: 

Research: Petrology of volcanic rocks with emphasis on the dynamics of magma processes at active volcanoes

Faculty page


 

 

J - K

 

Dr. Mark A. Johnson, Professor

Physical Oceanography, School of Fisheries & Ocean Sciences

Contact:  majohnson@alaska.edu or (907) 474-6933

Research:  My research focus is the physical oceanography of the Arctic Ocean through analysis of historical and model data. My current work is assessing of the ice volume of the Arctic Ocean, developing climate indices related to the seasonality of sea-ice freeze-up and break-up, and establishing measurements of sea-ice thickness over the Arctic Ocean.

Faculty Page


 

Dr. Douglas L. Kane, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Douglas L. Kane, Professor

Water and Environmental Research Center, INE

Contact: dlkane@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7808

Teaching: 

Research:  Specializing in all aspects of high latitude water resources

Faculty page

Institute of Northern Engineering


 

L

Dr. Christopher Larsen, Research Associate Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact: chris.larsen@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-5333

Teaching: 

Research: Glaciers

Faculty page


 

Dr. Paul Layer, Dean

Dr. Paul Layer, Dean

College of Natural Science and Mathematics

Contact: pwlayer@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7608

Teaching: 

Research: 40Ar/39Ar geochronology and thermochronology

Curriculum Vitae 

Geophysical Institute Website

CNSM Website


 

Dr. Anna Liljedahl, Research Assistant Professor

Dr. Anna Liljedahl, Assistant  Professor

Water and Environmental Research Center and International Arctic Research Center

Contact: akliljedahl@alaska.edu or (907) 474-1951

Teaching: 

Research: Arctic and sub-Arctic hydrology and surface energy balance

Faculty page


 

 

M

Andrew R. Mahoney, Research Assistant Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact: mahoney@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-5382

Research:  Research interests: sea ice geophysics; climate change; coastal dynamics, ice-ocean interaction and the relationship between humans and sea ice

Curriculum Vitae

Research website


Dr. Chanda L. Meek, Assistant Professor

Deparment of Political Science

Contact:  clmeek@alaska.edu or 474-5115

Research:  Institutional dimensions of sustainability, social ecological systems, comparative policy implementation, human dimensions of wildlife management, Arctic marine governance

Curriculum Vitae

Faculty Page


Dr. Roman Motyka, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Roman Motyka, Research Assistant Professor

Department of Environmental Sciences, University of Alaska SW

Contact: roman.motyka@uas.alaska.edu or (907) 796-6307

Teaching:

Research: Glacier dynamics and geology, isostatic tectonic and photogrammetry

Faculty page


N

Dr. Dmitry J. Nicolsky, Research Assistant Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact:  djnicolsky@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7397

Research:  Permafrost

Personal Webpage


 

 

O - P - Q - R

Dr. Natalia Ruppert, Seismologist

Dr. Natalia Ruppert, Seismologist

Alaska Earthquake Information Center

Contact: natasha at giseis.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7472

Teaching: 

Research: Seismology

Faculty page


Dr. Alexei Rybkin, Professor of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Contact: arybkin@alaska.edu   or (907) 474-6002

Research: Inverse spectral/scattering methods for integrable evolution nonlinear PDEs, nonlinear shallow water equations and tsunami run-up problems

Personal Webpage


 

S

 

Dr. Kenneth Severin, Director

Dr. Kenneth Severin, Director

Advanced Instrumentation Laboratory

Contact: kpseverin@alaska.edu or (907) 474-5821

Teaching:

Research: Interpretation of elemental patterns in incrementally grown biologic structures (mainly from fish) with the goal of reconstructing paleoenvironment and paleobiology

Advanced Instrumentation Lab


Dr. Martin Stuefer, Research Assistant Professor

Dr. Martin Stuefer, Assistant Research Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact: Stuefer@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-6477

Teaching: 

Research: Atmospheric radiation measurement; modeling and remote sensing of extreme aerosol events

Faculty page


Dr. Matthew Sturm, Research Professor of Geophysics

Geophysical Institute

Contactmatthew.sturm@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-5257

Teaching:  GEOS F694, Snow & Snow Cover

Research:  the role of snow cover on climate, with particular attention to snow ecology, and climate change resulting from snow-vegetation interactions


Dr. Curt A. L. Szuberla, Associate Professor of Physics

Contactcaszuberla@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7347

Research:  His research interests include atmospheric infrasound and digital signal processing. He studies various geophysical and man-made sources of infrasound and the array processing techniques required to detect and characterize them

Faculty Page

GI Page


 

T

 

Dr. Tom Trainor, Professor

Dr. Tom Trainor, Assistant Professor

Department of Chemistry

Contact: tptrainor@alaska.edu or (907) 474-5628

Teaching: 

Research: Aqueous and environmental geochemistry and mineral surface chemistry

Faculty page


 

Dr. Martin Truffer, Professor of Physics

Dr. Martin Truffer, Professor of Physics

Geophysical Institute

Contact: truffer at gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-5359

Teaching: 

Research: Glacier dynamics, application of geophysical and borehole techniques to glaciology and numerical modeling of ice flow

Faculty page


 

V

Dr. David Verbyla, Professor of GIS

Dr. David Verbyla, Professor of GIS

School of Natural Resources & Agricultural Sciences

Contact: dlverbyla@alaska.edu or (907) 474-5553

Teaching: 

Research: Remote Sensing & Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Faculty page


 

W

Dr. John Walsh, Professor

Institute of Northern Engineering

Contact: jwalsh@iarc.uaf.edu or (907) 474-2677

Teaching:

Research: Climate change and meteorology of polar regions, arctic sea ice, and extreme weather events and impacts

Faculty page


Dr. Katey Walter-Anthony, Research Associate Professor

Dr. Katie Walter Anthony, Research Asst. Professor

Institute of Northern Engineering, IARC

Contact: kmwalteranthony@alaska.edu or (907) 474-6095

Teaching: 

Research:

Faculty page


 

Dr. Brenton J. Watkins, Emeritus Professor

Department of Physics

Contactwatkins@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-7479

Interests:  Ionospheric Modelling and Simulation; Incoherent-scatter radar studies of the polar ionosphere; Imaging Riometer Studies  and Ionospheric Modification using High-Power HF Radio Waves

Faculty Page


 

Dr. Peter Webley, Assistant Research Professor

Dr. Peter Webley, Assistant Research Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact: pwebley@gi.alaska.edu or (907) 474-1542

Teaching: GEOS 676: Remote Sensing of Volcanic Eruptions

Research: Detection and tracking of volcanic ash clouds, with special attention to the hazard to aviation and improved visualization

Faculty page


Dr. Michael West, Research Associate Professor

Dr. Michael West, Research Assistant Professor

Geophysical Institute

Contact: 

mewest@alaska.edu

or (907) 474-6977

Teaching: 

Research: Seismic imaging and volcano seismology

Faculty page


 

 

Y - Z

Dr. Daqing Yang, Associate Professor of Water Resources

Dr. Daqing Yang, Associate Professor

Water and Environmental Research Center

Contact: dyang3@alaska.edu or (907) 474-2468

Teaching: 

Research: Cold Region Hydrology, Snow Hydrology, Climate Change, and Applications of Remote Sensing Data/Products

Faculty page


Dr. Mingchu Zhang, Professor of Agronomy/Soil Sciences

School of Natural Resources and Extension

Contact: mzhang3@alaska.edu or (907) 474-7004

Teaching: 

Research:   Nutrient management, soil carbon dynamics, forage and field crop production in subarctic area, waste management and composting

Faculty page