Commencement 2006 | Sunday, May 14, 2006 | John A. Carlson Center

Degree and emeriti recipients

2006 Professors emeriti

Dr. Karen Erickson

Associate Professor of Political Science, Emerita

WHEREAS Dr. Karen Erickson has served the University of Alaska Fairbanks with distinction in teaching, research and public service from 1991 to 2006; and

WHEREAS Dr. Erickson has illuminated her students' understanding of global politics by virtue of her own impressive experience in world affairs and academia; and has been recognized for her excellence with such citations as the College of Liberal Arts' Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award, Excellence in Teaching Award and two Honors Teacher Recognition Awards; and has guided students to challenging and prestigious post-baccalaureate endeavors, among them the Harry S. Truman Fellowship and Marshall Scholarship; and

WHEREAS Dr. Erickson has brought her intellect to bear on matters of politics and culture, ranging from education in rural Alaska to circumpolar arctic policy to issues of security and defense; and has been the principal or co-principal investigator on almost a dozen research projects, resulting in nearly half a million dollars in grant funding; and has authored numerous articles, monographs and other publications; and has shared her work at meetings and conferences throughout the United States and the circumpolar North; and

WHEREAS Dr. Erickson was a founding member of the University of the Arctic, of which the University of Alaska Fairbanks is a charter member; and has represented the University and the Nation with distinction as a delegate or consultant at many international arctic cooperation conferences and for organizations such as the U.S. Army War College and the United States Embassy in Helsinki; and has served the University in a variety of faculty and research committees;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks expresses its deep appreciation to Dr. Karen Erickson for her extensive contributions to both the State of Alaska and the University; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks, in further recognition of the invaluable services rendered by Dr. Erickson and as evidence of the University's desire that her identification with the University be maintained, hereby salutes the appointment of Dr. Karen Erickson as Associate Professor of Political Science, Emerita; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be appropriately engrossed and signed by the Chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks as further evidence of the esteem and respect in which he holds Dr. Karen Erickson, and conveyed to Dr. Erickson on this day of May 14, 2006.

Back to Degree/emeriti Recipients page

Contact Us About UAF Regalia Commencement