Commencement 2002


Events Schedule

Directions & Visitor Information

Parking & Shuttle Information

Commencement Speaker

Honorary Degree Recipients

Disability Information

Class of 2002

2002 Emeriti

2002 Commencement Home

Commencement Home



2002 Emeriti

conferring upon
the title of
Professor of Seismology, Emeritus

WHEREAS Dr. Max Wyss served the University of Alaska Fairbanks with distinction in teaching, research and public service from 1991 to 2002; and

WHEREAS Dr. Wyss has willingly shared his vast knowledge of seismology with students and the general public; and has served as major advisor for one master's and four doctoral candidates; and has created a collegial and academic atmosphere of cooperation among seismology faculty and staff that encourages the full and active participation of students; and

WHEREAS Dr. Wyss has applied a rigorous scientific approach to a vast array of seismological research areas; and has strengthened the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute's seismology group through innovative initiatives such as the study of crustal motion and deformation; and whose work in seismicity patterns in tectonic and seismic hazards has borne directly on improved understanding of earthquake hazards and prediction; and has published more than 60 articles in reviewed journals and served as a member of the advisory board for Pure and Applied Geophysics; and was the recipient of the Geophysical Institute's Moore Prize for best research paper in 1996; and

WHEREAS Dr. Wyss has advanced the University's seismology program into a highly regarded department; and whose continued professional relationship with the University heightens its standing in academia and research; and who brings prestige to the University by chairing the subcommission on earthquake prediction for the International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior; and as a member of the Canadian Earthquake Prediction Evaluation Committee; and by applying his extraordinary knowledge to assess seismic hazards for such organizations as the United Nations Development Program and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO);

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the faculty of the University of Alaska Fairbanks expresses its deep appreciation to Dr. Max Wyss for his extensive contributions to both the State of Alaska and the University; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the University of Alaska Fairbanks, in further recognition of the invaluable services rendered by Dr. Wyss and as evidence of the University's desire that his identification with the University be maintained, hereby salutes the appointment of Dr. Max Wyss as Professor of Seismology, Emeritus; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be appropriately engrossed and signed by the Chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks as further evidence of the esteem and respect in which he holds Dr. Max Wyss, and conveyed to Dr. Wyss on this day of May 12, 2002.


University Relations

Last modified June 22, 2011 by University Relations Web Developer.