Faculty

Gerri Brightwell:  Ph.D. Literature University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (Victorian fiction), MFA Creative Writing University of Alaska, Fairbanks (Fiction), MA Creative Writing University of East Anglia (Fiction),  BA (Hons) Humanities, Bristol Polytechnic (English and Art History) gabrightwell@alaska.edu

Rich Carr:  BA, University of Wisconsin; MA University of Iowa; PhD, University of Minnesota (Australian literature).  Teaching & Research Interests: Literature of Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania; Scandinavian literature; Victorian & Edwardian literature; Modern & Post-modern European fiction. rscarr@alaska.edu

Chris Coffman:  Ph.D. in Comparative Literature and Graduate Certificate in Gender Studies, University of Southern California; M.A. in Comparative Literature, University of Southern California; B.A. in Comparative Literature (Magna Cum Laude), Cornell University.  Areas of Expertise: Modernist literary and visual culture, especially Gertrude Stein, Virginia Woolf, James Joyce, and Franz Kafka; Theory; Women; Gender, and Sexuality Studies.  cecoffman@alaska.edu

Burns Cooper:  BA, Linguistics, Yale University, MA, English (Concentration in Language and Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin, PhD, English (Concentration in Language and Linguistics), University of Texas at Austin, MSc, Forensic Speech Science, University of York, U.K..  Areas of expertise: Forensic phonetics, varieties of English, poetics, forensic linguistics, modern and contemporary American poetry, sociolinguistics, contemporary Scottish poetry, history of the English language, English grammar, medieval British literature.  gbcooper@alaska.edu

Daryl Farmer:  dlfarmer@alaska.edu

Eileen Harney: Ph.D. University of Toronto (Medieval Studies and Collaborative Ph.D. Program in Women and Gender Studies),  M.A. University of Toronto  (Medieval Studies),  B.A.  Boston College (Major: English   Minor: Ancient Civilization). eharney@alaska.edu

Eric Heyne:  B.A. University of Washington; M.A. Ohio State University: Ph.D. Ohio State University (Critical Theory and American Literature).  efheyne@alaska.edu

Sean Hill: sdhill@alaska.edu

Sara Eliza Johnson:  B.A., Cornell University (English), M.F.A. University of Oregon (Poetry).  Teaching and Research Interests: Poetry Writing, Nonfiction Writing, Contemporary Poetry and Poetics, Eco-poetics, Film, Apocalyptic Texts.  saraelizajohnson@gmail.com

Leonard Kamerling: AA Franconia College, M.F.A. University of Alaska Fairbanks.  Areas of expertise: non-fiction, screenwriting, documentary film, ethnographic film, visual anthropology. ljkamerling@alaska.edu

Wendy M. Whitehead Martelle: B.A., International Studies & Russian, Dickinson College,  M.A., Russian Philology, Moscow State University, M.A., Linguistics, University of Pittsburgh,  Ph.D., Applied Linguistics, University of Pittsburgh.  Areas of Expertise: Second Language Acquisition, TESOL, English & Russian Linguistics, Individual Differences in Second Language Learning, L2 Acquisition of Tense-Aspect Morphology.  wmmartelle@alaska.edu

Kyle Mellen:  B.A, Colby College, (concentration in English, Creative Writing),  M.F.A. University of Alaska (Fiction);  Teaching and Research Interests: Short Stories, Flash Fiction, Contemporary Literature, Film.  kcmellen@alaska.edu

Terry Reilly:  B.A. Colby College, MS Ed. Nova Southeastern University, M.A. University of Miami, Ph.D. University of Miami,  Teaching and research specialties: Early modern English literature and law, Shakespeare, Doris Lessing, Thomas Pynchon.  tjreilly@alaska.edu

James Ruppert:  B.A. English  SUNY at Buffalo,  M.A. English  Purdue University,  Ph.D.  University of New Mexico.  Special interests: Native American Literature, Alaska Native Studies, Circumpolar studies, Cinema.  jkruppert@alaska.edu

Jennifer Schell:   BA, Anthropology, Emory University; MA, English, University of Georgia; Ph.D, English/Critical and Cultural Studies, University of Pittsburgh.  jschell5@alaska.edu

Sarah Stanley: B.A. Creighton University; M.S. University of Kansas; Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst.  Teaching and research specialties: Pedagogy, Community Writing, and Metaphorsstanley2@alaska.edu

Back to Top