Faculty

Name

 

Specialty and Degree 

Brightwell, Gerri
GRU 822
474-5209
gabrightwell@alaska.edu

Creative Writing--Fiction, Non-fiction, Victorian Literature,
Women's Literature.
M.A. University of East Anglia (1989),
M.F.A. University of Alaska Fairbanks (1994),
Ph.D. University of Minnesota (2004).

Burleson, Derick
GRU 868
474-5230
dwburleson@alaska.edu

Creative Writing--Poetry, Non-Fiction
Ph.D. University of Houston, 2000.

Carr, Richard 
Department Chair
Writing Center Director
GRU 816 & 854
474-6361
rscarr@alaska.edu

Pacific Literature, Scandinavian Literature,
Victorian and Edwardian Literature.
Ph.D. University of Minnesota, 1994 .

Coffman, Chris
GRU 824
474-5233
cecoffman@alaska.edu

British, American, and European Modernisms; Comparative Literature; Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies.
Ph.D. University of Southern California, 2001

Cooper, Burns 
GRU 858
474-5303
gbcooper@alaska.edu

Linguistics, Poetry, Poetics.
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin, 1989.  

Edson, Michael
GRU 810
medson2@alaska.edu

18th Century and Romantic Literature - Poetry
Ph.D., University of Delaware, 2011

Farmer, Daryl
GRU 846
474-5307
dlfarmer@alaska.edu

Creative Writing - Nonfiction and Fiction.

Ph.D. University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2007.

Harney, Eileen
GRU 858
474-5303
eharney@alaska.edu

Ph.D.-University of Toronto - Medieval Studies and Women and Gender Studies
M.A.-University of Toronto - Medieval Studies
B.A.-Boston College - Major:  English, Minor:  Ancient Civilization

Hill, Sean
GRU 846
474-6455
sdhill@alaska.edu

MFA Poetry, University of Houston 2003
MA English with emphasis in Creative Writing, University of Georgia 1998
AB  English, University of Georgia 1995 

Heyne, Eric
GRU 836
474-5982
efheyne@alaska.edu

American Literature, Critical Theory,
Alaskan and Northern Literature.
Ph.D. Ohio State University, 1984.

Johnston, Duff
GRU 866
474-5235
djohnston2@alaska.edu

B.A. in Communication Arts (Radio-TV-Film), University of Wisconsin-Madison 1992
M.A. in English Language/Linguistics, University of Arizona 2003
Ph.D. in Applied Linguistics, Pennsylvania State University 2011

Kamerling, Len
GRU 838
474-7437
ljkamerling@alaska.edu

Creative Writing--Screenwriting, Drama.
M.F.A. University of Alaska Fairbanks, 1999.
Mellen, Kyle
GRU 862
474-5234

kcmellen@alaska.edu

Creative Writing
BA: English & Creative Writing, Colby College, 2003
MFA: Creative Writing, Fiction, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 2010 

Reilly, Terry
GRU 844
474-5180
tjreilly@alaska.edu

British Literature, Shakespeare, World Literature.
Ph.D. University of Miami, 1993.

Ruppert, Jim
GRU 842
474-6605
jkruppert@alaska.edu

Native American Literature, American Literature,
Northern Studies, Cinema Studies, Native American Studies.
Ph.D. University of New Mexico, 1981.

Schell, Jennifer 
GRU 862
474-1982    jschell5@alaska.edu

B.A. in Anthropology from Emory University (1996)
M.A. in English from the University of Georgia (1998)
Ph.D. in English and Cultural and Critical Studies from University of Pittsburgh (2006)

Stanley, Sarah
Composition Director
GRU 812
474-7335
sstanley2@alaska.edu

B.A. in Creative Writing, Creighton University, 2003.
M.A. in English Language and Literature, University of Kansas, 2005.
Ph.D in Composition and Rhetoric, University of Massachusetts Amherst 2010.