Faculty & Staff Directory

Mathematics

Allman, Elizabeth
2005. Professor of Mathematics.
University of California, Los Angeles 1995, Ph.D.
Mathematical biology, computational algebra, algebraic statistics.
CH 308B    474-2479
e.allman@alaska.edu

Avdonin, Sergei
2001. Professor of Mathematics.
St. Petersburg (Leningrad) State University 1977, Ph.D.
Nonharmonic Fourier series, partial differential equations, control theory, inverse problems.
CH 304A    474-5023
s.avdonin@alaska.edu

Berman, Leah
2009. Associate Professor of Mathematics.
University of Washington 2002, Ph.D.
Configurations; discrete geometry.
CH 303A    474-7123
lwberman@alaska.edu

Bowman, Latrice
2005.  Instructor of Mathematics.
University of Alaska Fairbanks 2002, MS
CH 301E    474-5427
lnbowman@alaska.edu

Bueler, Ed
1998. Associate Professor of Mathematics (Applied).
Cornell University 1997. Ph.D.
Applied mathematics, numerical analysis, analysis on manifolds.
CH 301C    474-7693
elbueler@alaska.edu

Faudree, Jill
1998. Associate Professor of Mathematics.
Emory University 1998, Ph.D.
Combinatorics; graph theory.
CH 301D     474-7385
jrfaudree@alaska.edu

Gimbel, John
1987. Professor of Mathematics.
Western Michigan University 1984, Ph.D.
Graph theory; combinatorics; order.
CH 304C     474-6102
jggimbel@alaska.edu

Maxwell, David
2004. Associate Professor of Mathematics.
University of Washington 2004, Ph.D.
Partial differential equations, geometric analysis, mathematical physics.
CH 308C     474-1196
damaxwell@alaska.edu

Rhodes, John, DMS Chair
2005. Professor of Mathematics.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1986, Ph.D.
Mathematical biology, algebraic statistics.
CH 102     474-5445
j.rhodes@alaska.edu

Rickard, Anthony 
2003. Professor of Mathematics Education.
Michigan State University, 1993, Ph.D.
Problem solving; curriculum development; multicultural and rural education.
CH 301B      474-5374
adrickard@alaska.edu

Rybkin, Alexei
1998. Professor of Mathematics.
Leningrad State University 1985, Ph.D.
Operator theory, complex analysis, math physics.
CH 304B     474-6002
arybkin@alaska.edu

Sorenson, Kat

1998. Instructor of Mathematics.
University of Alaska Fairbanks 1997, M.S.
CH 301A    474-6550
kagustafson@alaska.edu

Williams, Gordon
2009. Associate Professor of Mathematics.
University of Washington 2002, Ph.D.
Discrete geometry, especially abstract polytopes, convex polytopes and tilings
CH 303B      474-2756
giwilliams@alaska.edu

Statistics

Barry, Ronald
1991. Professor of Statistics.
University of California, Irvine 1991, Ph.D.
Experimental design, spatial statistics.
CH 306C     474-7226
rpbarry@alaska.edu

McIntyre, Julie

2006. Associate Professor of Statistics.
North Carolina State University 2003, Ph.D.
Measurement error models and nonparametric statistics.
CH 306B     474-7772
jpmcintyre@alaska.edu

Short, Margaret

2006. Associate Professor of Statistics.
University of Minnesota 2003, Ph.D.
Bayesian spatial and spatio-temporal statistical modeling
CH 306D    474-5249
mshort18@alaska.edu

Staff

Mathers, Kathleen (Kitty)  
2011. Administrative Assistant. Building Coordinator.
CH 101B     474-6118
kmmathers@alaska.edu

Harrison, Katharine
   
2013. Math Bridge Assistant.
CH 306A     474-7605 
krharrison@alaska.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Avdonina, Nina
2003.  Adjunct Professor
St. Petersburg (Leningrad) State University 1979, Ph.D. 
Quantum mechanics, scattering theory, inverse problems.
CH 107     474-7273
navdonina@alaska.edu

Barnsley, Amy
2013. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics
GRUE 508B     474-7372
amy.barnsley@alaska.edu


Bastille, Odile
2010. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics
University of Alaska Fairbanks 2012, M.S.
CH 107    474-7273
orbastille@alaska.edu

Carstens, Dan

2013. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics (Distance)
drcarstens@alaska.edu

Dart, Joe 
1982. Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science (Retired 1990).
Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics 
University of Alaska 1989, M.S. 
Resource modelling and simulation. 
jjdart@alaska.edu

Kimble, Jim

2013. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics (Distance)
jekimblejr@alaska.edu

Massa, James
1995. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics
Fisheries oceanography; climate change.
CH 107       474-7273
jmassa@alaska.edu

Moon, Sookmi

2013.  Adjunct Instructor of Statistics. 
CH 107     474-7273
smoon5@alaska.edu

VanSpronsen, Hillary

2013. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics (Distance)
hvansponsen@alaska.edu

Zinger, Victor

2013. Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics (Distance)
vazinger@alaska.edu

Retired Faculty

Gatterdam, Ronald (Ron),
1982. Professor Emeritus of Computer Science and Mathematics (retired 2003).
University of California, Irvine 1970 , Ph.D.
Computer science; computability; complexity of algorithms .
rgatt@alaska.net

Quang, Pham X.
1985. Professor Emeritus of Statistics (retired 2001).
University of California, Berkeley 1974, Ph.D.
Theoretical statistics; sampling designs.

Tape, Walter
1982. Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (retired 2004).
University of Michigan 1968, Ph.D.
Atmospheric optics.
wtape@alaska.edu