Department of Alaska Native Studies & Rural Development

Fairbanks office:

3rd floor Brooks Building

PO Box 756500

Fairbanks, AK 99775


Phone: (907) 474-6528

Toll free: 1-888-574-6528

Fax: (907) 474-6325


Anchorage office:

2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd. Room 200

Anchorage, AK 99508


Phone: (907) 279-2700

Toll free: 1-800-770-9531

Fax: (907) 279-2716

Hours: M-F 8AM-5PM

Tuition and Fees

Tuition is determined by the number of credit hours in which the student is enrolled, the level of the courses, and the student's residency status. For a full explanation of the 2010-11 tuition and fee structure see the UAF website: 

  • Undergraduate students are considered full time at 12 or more credit hours.
  • Graduate students are considered full time at 9 or more credit hours.
  • Students enrolled in no more than 4 credits per semester pay tuition at the resident rate.
  • The M.A. Rural Development program is a participant of  the Western Regional Graduate Program  where students are eligible to enroll at UAF at resident tuition rates.  Students from the following states are eligible for the resident tuition as M.A. Rural Development degree students:  Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.