College of Natural Science & Mathematics

Student and Teacher Awards 2013

Congratulations to eight CNSM students who were recognized during the UAF Students Awards Program for being outstanding undergraduates. 

The Outstanding Graduating Senior Woman
Theresia Schnurr is the recipient of the 2013 Marion Frances Boswell Memorial Award. She received her B.S. in Chemistry/Biochemistry with minors in General Business and Management and Organizations. 

The Outstanding Graduating Senior Man
Paul Tschida is the recipient of the 2013 Joel Wiegert Award. In May he will be receiving a B.S. in Chemistry with a concentration in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology. 

Each CNSM program nominated an "Outstanding Undergraduate"

Biological Sciences.....Daniela Wilner
Chemistry and Biochemistry.....Paul Tschida 
Geology and Geophysics.....Rebecca Parrish 
Mathematics.....Lander Ver Hoef   
Physics.....Levi Cowan  
Statistics.....Andrew Slagle  
Wildlife Biology.....Travis Lapointe  

The Brina Kessel Award for Excellence in Science
Alex Edgar received the Brina Kessel Excellence in Science Award. He is an Undergraduate student, B.S. Geology.

Outstanding Faculty
A congratualations also goes out to Professor Rainer Newberry in the Geology & Geophysics Department. The Associated Students of the University of Fairbanks gave him the Outstanding Faculty Award

Two CNSM professors receive the 2013 Emil Usibelli Awards
The University of Alaska Fairbanks has announced recipients of the 2013 Emil Usibelli Distinguished Teaching, Research and Public Service Awards. Jeffrey Freymueller, professor of geophysics at the UAF Geophysical Institute and College of Natural Science and Mathematics, received the research award; and Catherine Cahill, associate professor of chemistry at the UAF Geophysical Institute and the College of Natural Science and Mathematics, received the service award. All three were honored at a reception Monday at the UA Museum of the North.