College of Natural Science & Mathematics

The Alaska Statewide High School Science Symposium (ASHSSS) is a research, writing and oral intensive program that helps students develop science research, writing, and oral presentation skills. Students complete science research, submit written papers of their projects for technical review and revision and then present the findings to separate panels of judges in one of four categories.

Professor Abel Bult-Ito, Ph.D., directs the program.   Dr. Denise Kind is the Associate Director.

Students are able to work with some of the best scientists in their field of interest. Then they can present their results in a scientific setting that, for this level of competition, is as close as students can get to a professional academic science symposium experience.

Past participants have been published in scientific journals, gone on to work toward advanced science degrees, and one was awarded a Rhodes scholarship.   

The ASHSSS program is one of 48 regional affiliates to the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium.   The US Army, Navy, and Air Force fund the program and the Academy of Applied Science administers it.   We receive additional financial support from Fairbanks Memorial Hospital and Denali Center, the Alaska Science Consortium, and the Usibelli Foundation.

ASHSSS is celebrating its 30th year and is currently hosting the symposium on March 28 and 29. Click here to see the intinerary and procedings.

Click here to visit the Junior Science and Humanities Symposium site

L-R, William Mitchell, Jake Herrmann, Sally Kuhn, Abe Haas, Ryan Nicholson
L-R, William Mitchell, Jake Herrmann, Sally Kuhn, Abe Haas and Ryan Nicholson

2014 Winners!

1st Place - Jake Herrmann, West Valley High School , A Primarily Statistical Approach to Chatbot Design

2nd Place - William Mitchell, West Valley High School , Effects of Kerosene Co-contamination on Sulfolane Biodegradation

3rd Place - Ryan Nicholson, West Valley High School , Microfluidic Droplet-in air Production Prototyping in Dry-film Photoresist Developed Microchannels 

4th Place, Sally Liane Kuhn, West Valley High School , Cyanoacrylate (CA) vs. Iodine Fuming of Latent Fingerprints: A Comparative Study

5th Place - Abe Haas , West Valley High School , Use of Sodium Nitrite as a Corrosion Inhibitor on Pipeline Steel

6th Place - Summer Morton , Petersburg High School , Using Microsatellites to Determine if Moose (Alces alces) Are Reproductively Isolated in the Alexander Archipelago of Southeastern Alaska

7th Place - Kay Rippy, West Valley High School , Efficacy of Common Household Antibacterial Sprays

8th Place - Ellerie Freisinger , Petersburg High School, Decorations of Oregonia gracilis throughout Petersburg Municipal Harbor