Biochemistry & Neuroscience Graduate Program Faculty

Faculty MemberResearchAffiliations
Kelly Drew
kdrew@alaska.edu
907-474-7190
Biochemistry and NeurochemistryInstitute of Arctic Biology and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Lawrence K. Duffy
lkduffy@alaska.edu
907-474-7525
Neurochemistry, protein chemistry, Alzheimer's disease-related biochemistryInstitute of Arctic Biology and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Kriya L. Dunlap
kldunlap@alaska.edu
907-474-5215
Nutrition, Biochemistry, and diet and age-related diseasesInstitute of Arctic Biology and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Brian Edmonds
bwedmonds@alaska.edu
907-474-6527
Biochemistry and biophysics. Membrane structure and function.CNSM Division of Research and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tom Green
tkgreen@alaska.edu
907-474-1559
Organic chemistry and BiochemistryInstitute of Arctic Biology and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
William Howard
wahoward@alaska.edu
907-474-6019
Inorganic Chemistry and Bioinorganic ChemistryDepartment of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tom Kuhn
tbkuhn@alaska.edu
907-474-5752
Signal transduction in nerve injury and repair; plasticity; neurotoxicity of environmental metal contaminants; redox regulation of proteinsCNSM Division of Research and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Associated / Affiliated Faculty:
              
Faculty Member
Research
Affiliations

Bert Boyer
bert.boyer@uaf.edu
907-474-7733 
Understanding the interaction between genetic and environmental risk and protective factors for obesity and diabetes in Yup'ik Eskimos. Identification of gene-environment interactions that influence energy balance should lead to a better understanding of the pathophysiological mechanisms contributing to body fat development and is also an important aspect of public health intervention.Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife and CANHR director

Andrea Ferrante
aferrante@alaska.edu
907-474-5916

Biophysics and Biochemistry of class II MHC-restrcted antigen presentation, epitope prediction modeling, prediction of Factor VIII Inhibitor formation, T cell response cross reactivity.Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife

Michael Harris
ffmbh@uaf.edu
907-474-7801

Neurochemistry, breathing neuroregulation, sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS)Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife
Tim Hinterberger
aftjh@uaa.alaska.edu
907-786-4632
Genetic mechanisms that control the development of skeletal muscle cells and some of the physiological changes that affect muscle. University of Alaska Anchorage Department of Biology 

Kara Hoover
kchoover@alaska.edu
907-474-6110

Biological anthropology and evolutionary genetics. Biocultural evolution of the human olfactory subgenome and the genetic epidemiology of circumpolar populations. Bioarchaeology  and stable isotope analysis for reconstructing diet.University of Alaska Fairbanks Anthropology Department
Karsten Hueffer
khueffer@alaska.edu
907-474-6313
Host-pathogen interaction in infectious disease. First I am interested in how pathogens exploit cellular function in their life cycles.  Secondly, I wish to study how these mechanisms of host cell exploitation are regulated.Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife
Jocelyn Krebs
jekrebs@alaska.edu
907-786-1556
 Chromatin Structure and FunctionUniversity of Alaska Anchorage Department of Biology and INBRE director
Mary Beth Leigh
mbleigh@alaska.edu
907-474-6656
Microbial degradation of aromatic compounds. Bacteria and fungi have evolved pathways for degrading plant-produced aromatics, including lignin and secondary defense compounds that are important to global carbon cycling. Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife
Kristin O'Brien
kmobrien@alaska.edu
907-474-7640
Research in my laboratory is aimed at understanding how fishes maintain energy production at cold temperature.   Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife

Todd O'Hara
tmohara@alaska.edu
907-474-1838

Wildlife conservation and medicine with a focus on environmental and wildlife toxicology of marine  and terrestrial mammals and fish, and marine mammals outside of Alaska. Institute of Arctic Biology and Department of Biology and Wildlife
Back to Top