Biochemistry and Neuroscience Graduate Program

Biochemistry and Neuroscience (B&N) is an interdepartmental program administered by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. 

The graduate program in Biochemistry and Neuroscience supports training and research excellence in core areas including cellular and molecular neuroscience, drug discovery and bioanalytical chemistry.  The program contributes to the Biomedical and One Health Science community at the University of Alaska and seeks to better understand and develop technologies related to the Arctic. The goal of the program is to prepare students for careers in biochemistry and neuroscience to meet workforce demand within academia, industry, government and legal services. Prospective students are encouraged to contact Core and Affiliate faculty (listed below) to inquire about specific research training opportunities.

Core B&N faculty

Kelly L. Drew kdrew@alasaka.edu
Lawrence K. Duffy lkduffy@alaska.edu
Kriya L. Dunlap kldunlap@alaska.edu
Thomas K. Green tkgreen@alaska.edu
William A. Howard wahoward@alaska.edu
Thomas B. Kuhn tbkuhn@alaska.edu
Ryan Oliver sroliver@alaska.edu 
Maegan M. Weltzin mmweltzin@alaska.edu

Affiliate B&N faculty

Located at UAF in Fairbanks

Abel Bult-Ito  abultio@alaska.edu
Jack Chen j.chen@alaska.edu
Robert Coker rcoker@alaska.edu
Karsten Heuffer khueffer@alaska.edu
Mary Beth Leigh mbleigh@alaska.edu
Kristin Obrien kmobrien@alaska.edu
Todd O’Hara tmohara@alaska.edu
Anshul Pandya aapandya@alaska.edu
Andrej Podlutsky apodlutsky@alaska.edu
Arleigh Reynolds ajreynolds@alaska.edu

Located at UAA in Anchorage

Jason Burkhead jlburkhead@alaska.edu
Khrys Duddleston knduddleston@alaska.edu
Timothy Hinterberger tjhinterberger@alaska.edu
Max Kullberg pkullberg@alaska.edu

 Students in the Ph.D. program are required to take graduate courses, complete a research-based thesis, and pass comprehensive and final oral examinations. Students are encouraged to take a wide range of courses. Thesis research is undertaken in collaboration with a thesis advisor who also chairs the student's graduate advisory committee. The committee helps advise the student on scientific and academic matters, oversees the various graduate exams, and approves the thesis. The major advisor and committee are chosen during the student's first year as a graduate student.

Students are generally supported throughout their appointments, either by teaching assistantships in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, or by a research assistantship. The latter are funded by grants from the state or federal agencies secured by our faculty.

Our intended learning outcomes for students in biochemistry and neuroscience are:

  • Graduates attain a level of technical ability and knowledge to function as professionals in their discipline.
  • Masters graduates have performed research using technical and problem solving skills to contribute to their field.  Doctoral graduates demonstrate that they can independently identify a problem and devise appropriate methods for its solution, contributing original knowledge to that field. 
  • Communication/presentation skills are consistent with professional standards.   
  • Graduates obtain employment or continue education in the field following graduation.  

Study Biochemistry and Neuroscience at UAF - Apply today! 

Biochemistry & Neuroscience Graduate Program Coordinator

Kelly Drew
Office: 223F Murie Building
Phone: 907-474-7190
Email: kdrew@alaska.edu

Biochemistry and Neuroscience Poster

Back to Top