Chukchi Sea Environmental Studies Program

Project Description

The Chukchi Sea Environmental Studies Program (CSESP) is a multi-year, multi-discipline marine science research program in the northeastern Chukchi Sea.

Research Team

Principal Investigator

Robert Day

Affiliate Faculty
Specialties:
  • Ornithology
  • Marine Pollution Studies
  • Marine Ecology
  • Threatened/Endangered Species
bday@abrinc.com
(907) 455-6777
Full Profile

Co-Principal Investigator

picture of Russell Hopcroft

Russell Hopcroft

Professor
Specialties:
  • trophodynamics
  • midwater ecology
  • zooplankton
  • Arctic and subarctic ecosystems
rrhopcroft@alaska.edu
907-474-7842
Full Profile
picture of Arny Blanchard

Arny Blanchard

Research Full Professor
Specialties:
  • Environmental Statistics
  • Benthic Ecology
  • Invertebrate Taxonomy
alblanchard@alaska.edu
(907) 474-1123
Full Profile
picture of Thomas Weingartner

Thomas Weingartner

Professor Emeritus
Specialties:
  • Physical Oceanography
  • Physical oceanography of Alaskan continental shelves and slopes.
  • Interdisciplinary marine research
  • Wind- and buoyancy-forced shelf circulation systems
tjweingartner@alaska.edu
(907) 474-7993
Full Profile
picture of Jeremy Mathis

Jeremy Mathis

Affiliated Faculty
Specialties:
  • Marine Chemistry
  • Biogeochemical Processes
  • Ecosystem Dynamics
  • Carbon Cycle
  • Nitrogen Cycle
jtmathis@alaska.edu
Full Profile
picture of Brenda Norcross

Brenda Norcross

Professor
Specialties:
  • fisheries oceanography
  • fisheries ecology
  • fish habitats
  • early life history of marine fish
  • Arctic fishes
bnorcross@alaska.edu
(907)474-7990
Full Profile
picture of Adrian Gall

Adrian Gall

Ph.D. Student
Specialties:
  • seabird ecology
  • radar ornithology
  • bird movement and migration
  • population monitoring
aegall@alaska.edu
Full Profile

Co-PI

Lisanne Aerts, LAMA Ecological, 907-268-1970, lisanne@lamaecological.com
David Hannay, JASCO, 250-483-3301, David.Hannay@jasco.com

Research Staff

Project Funding

ConocPhillips, Shell Exploration and Production, and Statoil USA
Start Date: 2008-07-01 End Date: 2014-10-01

Submit your project
If you are CFOS faculty, student or staff member without your project highlighted here, we want to hear from you.  CLICK HERE

Back to Top