Tuition and Fees

Note: Fees for spring 2010 have been updated; this web page reflects the most current information.

Tuition

Tuition is determined by the number of credit hours in which the student is enrolled, the level of the courses and the student's residency status. (See table below.)

2009 – 2010 Tuition
Resident Non-resident
100 – 200-level courses $141/credit $471/credit
300 – 400-level courses $159/credit $489/credit
500-level courses varies varies
600-level courses $316/credit $646/credit

Note: Audited credits are charged at the same rate as other credits.

Resident and Non-Resident Tuition

NOTE: The information about residency requirements reflected here is the most current.

Students eligible for Alaska resident tuition generally include:

Students will be considered non-resident if within two years prior to applying for residency they:

To prove physical presence, students must provide documentation of one of the following:

Students applying for resident tuition assessment must file an application for resident tuition with the Office of Admissions prior to the published end of the add/drop period for regular semester-length courses for the semester for which residency is sought. Failure to file and provide adequate proof of physical presence by this date will waive any claim that the student was eligible for resident tuition assessment for that semester or prior semesters unless otherwise determined by the Office of Admissions.

Residency criteria, as paraphrased above, are determined by UA Board of Regents residency policy and regulations found at www.alaska.edu/bor/policy/05-10.doc. For additional information and applications, students should contact the Office of Admissions.

Basic Student Fees

Review a table of basic fees.

ASUAF

Cost: $35 per semester.

Who pays: All students enrolled in 3 or more credits.

What's covered: Associated Students of the University of Alaska Fairbanks (ASUAF) represents student views and concerns to the university administration, board of regents and Alaska Legislature. The ASUAF fee also pays for publication of the UAF student newspaper, the Sun Star; the student-managed ASUAF Concert Board; and KSUA, the student radio and on-campus television station. Other services provided through ASUAF include a free half-hour attorney consultation, ombudsman consultation, student discounts at participating businesses (the ASUAF Student Saver program), free international student identification cards, subsidized student club activities and much more. Contact ASUAF at 907-474-7355 or visit www.asuaf.org.

Athletics and Campus Recreation

Cost: $8 per credit hour (to a maximum of $96 per semester)

Who pays: All Fairbanks area students (Fairbanks campus or Tanana Valley Campus sites) enrolled in 3 or more credits.

What's covered: The Athletics and Campus Recreation fee provides free admission to all home athletic competitions. Admission will only be guaranteed until the start of each event. Fee excludes post-season competitions. For more information regarding event/ticket policies visit www.alaskananooks.com.

Course Fees

Cost: Varies

Who pays: Students enrolled in courses with special fees. See the class schedule for individual classes.

What's covered: Some courses require special equipment, supplies or services and charge a materials fee in addition to tuition. Check course listings in the class schedule to see if material fees are required for any of your classes.

Health and Counseling Center

Cost: $105 per semester

Who pays: Students enrolled in 9 credits or more, students living in university housing, and all students purchasing student health insurance. (Optional for students taking 6 – 8 credit hours with student health insurance purchase or evidence of other insurance.)

What's covered: Basic medical and counseling services at the UAF Center for Health and Counseling on the Fairbanks campus.

Waivers: Students who meet all of the following conditions may waive the Health Center fee: 1) no courses on the Fairbanks campus or at University Park, 2) not living in university housing and 3) not purchasing the university student health insurance plan. Pick up a health center fee waiver form from the cashier at fee payment, in the UAF Business Office on the Fairbanks campus, or call 907-474-7043.

Health Insurance

Cost: $352 for the fall 2009 semester, $371 for spring 2010, $945 annually. (Rates are renegotiated each year.)

Who pays: Students enrolled in 9 or more credits, students living in university housing and all international students with F-1 and J-1 visas (including Canadian students) must have health insurance coverage. If you do not already have health insurance, you must purchase the student health insurance coverage provided through the university. Departments such as the Center for Health and Counseling, Residence Life (housing) and the Office of International Programs may request proof of insurance from you at any time during the semester. Insurance is optional for students enrolled in 6 – 8 credit hours.

Students must actively attend classes for at least the first 31 days after the date for which coverage is purchased. Correspondence, home study, Internet and distance education courses do not fulfill the eligibility requirements that the student actively attend classes. Students taking 6 or more credit hours who do not meet eligibility requirements because they are not physically attending classes may enroll in the plan on a voluntary basis using the Distance Education enrollment form and paying the Distance Education rate. Distance Education enrollment forms are available at the Center for Health and Counseling.

What's covered: Most accidents and acute illnesses up to a specified maximum amount per illness or injury. See the health insurance brochure for details at www.uaf.edu/chc/healthplan.html.

How to pay: Insurance is not automatically charged to your account. You must add the health insurance fee to your bill during fee payment. You can also add the insurance premium on the web at http://uaonline.alaska.edu or by calling the Business Office at 907-474-7384 or 907-474-6337.

Waivers: International students on F-1 and J-1 visas (including Canadian students) who meet specified requirements may get a waiver signed at the Office of International Programs. Evidence of equivalent coverage must be presented in English and in advance of the fee payment period. Call OIP at 907-474-5327 for details.

Parking Decal

Cost: $35 per semester for 8 credits or less, $68 per semester for 9 or more credits, or $124 for an annual parking decal (available only in the fall)

Who pays: All students who park at any UA, UAF or Tanana Valley Campus facility in Fairbanks, whether on or off campus, are required to have a parking decal or permit displayed on the vehicle at all times, including evenings. Affiliates may also park in metered spaces in lieu of buying a parking decal or permit. (Campus residents may not purchase the multi-car user decal option. Employees are not eligible to purchase parking decals at student rates.)

What's covered: Parking in decal required lots or spaces at any UA, UAF or Tanana Valley Campus facility in Fairbanks, whether on or off campus.

How to pay: You may add parking to your semester tuition and fees using UAOnline (http://uaonline.alaska.edu) or by calling the Business Office at 907-474-7384 or 907-474-6337, or Parking Services at 907-474-7275. Parking fees may also be added and paid during fee payment. Once you pay tuition and fees, pick up your parking decal at Parking Services. Please bring your web or in-person payment receipt, the DMV vehicle registration form or documentation showing vehicle ownership to one of the two parking office locations: 111 Eielson Building or 1855 Marika Road. Your decal is valid only when it is properly affixed to the assigned vehicle.

Parking fees help fund the campus shuttle service. Other free services provided through parking fees include assistance for motorists who run out of gas, are locked out of their vehicles or need a jump start.

Complete UAF parking regulations, citation payment and decal purchase may be found online at www.uaf.edu/fs/parkingservices.html. For more information call 907-474-PARK (7275) or e-mail fypark1@uaf.edu.

Student Recreation Center

Cost: $75 per semester

Who pays: All Fairbanks area students (Fairbanks campus or Tanana Valley Campus sites) enrolled in 9 or more credits. Students enrolled in 3 – 8 credits who want access to the Student Recreation Center and its facilities have the option of paying the fee that grants permission to use the facilities. This fee is not available for students enrolled in fewer than 3 credits. Students taking courses outside the Fairbanks area are not required to pay this fee.

What's covered: The SRC fee provides for free use of the SRC and its facilities. An adult must accompany anyone under 18 using SRC facilities (unless he or she is a full-time UAF student). Contact the SRC for more information at 907-474-7205.

Technology

Cost: $5 per credit hour (to a maximum of $60 per semester)

Who pays: All students.

What's covered: The fee remains at the campus at which it was collected and is used to support technology that enhances academics.

Transportation

Cost: $13 per semester

Who pays: Students enrolled at the Fairbanks campus or Tanana Valley Campus sites and taking 4 credits or more per semester during fall or spring semesters.

What's covered: The transportation fee pays a portion of the costs of operating shuttle buses that provide transportation throughout campus and to various university facilities off campus.

UA Network Fee

Cost: 2 percent of tuition

Who pays: All students.

What's covered: The UA network charge covers rapidly rising costs, especially in the maintenance and enhancement of the university-wide technology infrastructure. The 2 percent network charge is applied on a per-credit-hour basis (rounded to the nearest dollar) to tuition, non-resident surcharges if applicable, and fees in lieu of tuition for credit and non-credit courses. The minimum network charge per course is $2.

Wood Center Student Life

Cost: $25 per semester

Who pays: All Fairbanks area students (Fairbanks campus or Tanana Valley Campus sites) enrolled in 9 credits or more. Students taking courses outside the Fairbanks area are not required to pay the Wood Center Student Life fee.

What's covered: The Wood Center Student Life fee supports Nanook traditions such as Starvation Gulch, International Education Week, Winter Carnival and SpringFest as well as student activities and student quality of life projects.

Other Fees

Review a table of other fees.

Application for Admission

Cost: $40 – $60

Who pays: Applicants to occupational endorsement, certificate and associate degree programs should include $40 with their admissions application, applicants to bachelor's programs should include $50 and applicants to graduate programs, $60.

What's covered: Assessment and processing of prospective student applications.

Application for Graduation

Cost: $50 ($80 if late)

Who pays: Students planning to graduate in a given semester must apply for graduation early in that semester. Check the academic calendar for the semester you plan to complete your studies for the deadline to apply for graduation. If you miss the deadline, you may submit a late application for graduation up to six weeks before the last day of classes (the fee increases by $30 if you apply after the published deadline).

What's covered: Credit check and certification of eligibility to graduate.

Campus Housing

Fairbanks campus single student housing

Cost: $350 deposit ($35 nonrefundable application fee; $315 refundable damage deposit)

Fairbanks campus single student housing
Double rooms $1,805
Single rooms* $2,220
Double room/single occupancy* $2,365
Cutler Apts./quadruple rooms $1,805 – 2,365
* Extremely limited availability.

Fairbanks campus family housing

Cost: $50 nonrefundable application fee, $600 damage deposit ($300 due when you are assigned a housing unit; $300 due at check-in)

Fairbanks campus family housing
Efficiency to three-bedroom apartments $750 – $1,630

How to apply: Send your completed application and application fee to the UAF Department of Residence Life. Applications are available online at www.uaf.edu/reslife/forms_applications.htm. Room rent and meal plan fees, along with all other fees, are due in full by fee payment end. Information about Residence Life is available at 907-474-7247, housing@uaf.edu, or www.uaf.edu/reslife/.

Kuskokwim Campus housing

For information about campus housing at the Kuskokwim Campus in Bethel, visit www.bethel.uaf.edu or call 907-543-4562.

Credit by Examination

Cost: $40 per credit hour

Who pays: Students using the credit-by-exam option for earning UAF course credit.

What's covered: The fee pays for coordinating the exam or other evaluation requirements between student and professor, grade recording and transcription.

Credit for Prior Learning

Cost: $50 fee payment plus $10/credit hour for credits earned

Who pays: Students using the credit for prior learning option to earn UAF course credits.

What's covered: The fee pays for the portfolio or license/certificate review by faculty. If credit is awarded, the fee per credit hour earned pays for grade recording and transcription.

Duplicate Tuition/Fees Receipt

Cost: $5

Who pays: Anyone requesting a duplicate receipt.

What's covered: Replacement of lost tuition/fee statement receipts. Duplicate receipts are available from the Business Office in Signers' Hall.

Graduate Student Reinstatement

Cost: $50

Who pays: Graduate students who do not meet registration requirements and fail to file an approved leave of absence may request reinstatement from the dean of the Graduate School and will be charged $50.

What's covered: Reinstatement processing.

Late Add/Late Registration

Cost: $50 after the last day of fee payment

Who pays: Students who add a class after the last day of fee payment or students who register for one or more classes after the payment deadline (including drop/swap courses). Students will not be charged late fees when:

Late fees are refunded only if all classes for which the student has registered are canceled.

What's covered: Tuition/fees and registration processing.

Late Placement Test or Guidance Test

Cost: $5

Who pays: Students who take a placement or guidance test outside of scheduled testing sessions.

What's covered: Test oversight, administration and recording.

Meal Plans

Cost: $900–1,875

Who pays: All residence hall students are required to purchase a meal plan, with the exception of residents living in Cutler Apartment Complex, Wickersham Hall and graduate students. Students who do not live on campus but are interested in purchasing a meal plan can contact Dining Services at 907-474-6661. Please review your dining contract for more details.

What's covered (per semester):

Meal plan Cost
Platinum — Unlimited meals, including breakfasts at Wood Center Food Court and lunch and dinner at Lola Tilly Commons, and $75 Munch Money. $1,595
Gold — Unlimited meals at Lola Tilly Commons, lunch through dinner Monday through Friday, as well as brunch and dinner Saturday, Sunday and holidays, and $100 Munch Money. (Note: Breakfast may be purchased using Munch Money.) $1,575
Denali Block Meal Plan — 250 meals at Wood Center Food Court or Lola Tilly Commons and $200 Munch Money. $1,845
Talkeetna Block Meal Plan — 200 meals at Wood Center Food Court and Lola Tilly Commons and $350 Munch Money. $1,860
Nanook Block Meal Plan — 150 meals at Wood Center Food Court and Lola Tilly Commons and $500 Munch Money. $1,875
The Upper Classman Block Meal Plan — 75 meals at Wood Center Food Court and Lola Tilly Commons and $100 Munch Money (availability limited, junior standing and above required). $900

Munch Money is a declining balance account used exclusively for food purchases at any UAF campus dining location and at most vending machines. Meal plans and Munch Money can be purchased from Dining Services in 106 Eielson.

Note: Lola Tilly Commons and Wood Center Food Court are closed throughout the UAF holiday break and Spring Break.

New Student Orientation

Cost: $75 for the fall semester or $35 for the spring semester covers all programs, except special Outdoor Adventures activities.

Who Pays: Any new student may participate in UAF Orientation on the Fairbanks campus. Orientation is required for all first year baccalaureate degree-seeking students entering UAF with less than 30 credits. The program is also required for all E.D.G.E. students (first year residential students under 20 years of age entering with fewer than 20 credits), incoming international students and UA Scholars.

What's covered: All materials, sessions, entertainment and meals not included in student meal plans.

Payment Plan

Cost: $50

Who pays: Students who are unable to pay all tuition and fees at the beginning of a semester.

What's covered: Budgeting by distributing the costs of tuition and fees across two or more payment dates.

Post Office Box

Cost: $45 per box per semester

Who pays: Students who wish to receive U.S. Postal Service mail on campus may rent a post office box in the full service post office located in Constitution Hall. USPS mail is delivered on campus to post office boxes only, not to street addresses.

What's covered: Post office box space, postal and mail forwarding services.

Records Duplication

Cost: $5 per document

Who pays: Anyone who requests copies of their own academic records.

What's covered: Copies of records in your academic file in the Registrar's Office (except transcripts from another school). Students need to submit a written request for copies. The Registrar's Office provides document copies as time permits. All copies provided through this service are stamped "unofficial."

Textbooks

Cost: Varies according to course load. You can expect to pay about $250 to $1,100 per semester for textbooks. The cost for books averages about $90 – 115 per course.

Who pays: Students in classes with required texts.

What's covered: Texts, assigned readings or other course materials assigned by instructors.

Thesis Binding

Cost: $20 minimum for each hardbound copy; other fees may be charged to cover microfilming, copyright, map pockets or postage.

Who pays: Graduate students upon completion of thesis or dissertation.

What's covered: Book binding for graduate theses and dissertations, including the two copies that are required for the UAF Rasmuson Library.

Transcripts

Cost: Official transcripts: $7 – 15

Unofficial transcripts: $3

Who pays: Anyone who requests their own transcripts from the Registrar's Office.

What's covered:

Paying Tuition and Fees

All tuition and fees must be paid by the fee payment deadline published in the semester class schedule. This includes room rent, meal plan costs, student activity fees, health fees and deposits. Any charges unpaid at the end of the previous semester are also due and must be paid before you can re-enroll. If you owe money to the university and submit an enrollment form and payment for the current semester, you will not be enrolled into your classes; the payment will be applied toward your debt. If the current semester payment is by check from a source other than the student, the payment will be returned to the source.

Consequences of Not Paying

You are responsible for paying all tuition and fees. The university will not initiate a drop for non-payment. Students must drop within the 100 percent refund period to avoid tuition and fee charges.

UAF may withhold transcripts, diplomas or grade reports from students who have not paid all financial obligations to the institution. Registration may be withheld from any student who is delinquent in paying any amount due to the university. Registration, meal plan and housing contracts may be canceled at any time for those who fail to meet installment contract payments or financial obligations. The registration process is not complete until the student has paid all fees and charges due the university.

Payment Plans and Textbook Loans

Payment plans and textbook loans are available through the Business Office. The cost of your total assessed semester tuition, fees, room and board can be broken up into monthly payments throughout the semester. The cost of a payment plan is $50 and the cost of a textbook loan is $10.

Payment Plans — Get an early start on your monthly payments. As soon as you are registered for your classes, you can set up a payment plan. Your minimum down payment and subsequent monthly payments are based upon how soon you turn in your payment plan form to the Business Office. If you do not meet the payment plan requirements, please contact the Business Office at 907-474-7384 to make an appointment.

Textbook Loans — You may be eligible for an advance of your financial aid for the purchase of your textbooks. Bring a textbook list and verification of certified financial aid to the Business Office and complete a textbook loan application. A $10 processing fee applies. If the loan is not repaid within 30 days, a late fee of $35 will be applied to past due accounts and a hold will be placed on your account until it is brought current.

If you do not have certified financial aid you must be in a payment plan to receive a textbook loan. You must provide a textbook list and meet the same requirements for a payment plan.

The advance or loan amount is applied to your PolarExpress card, which can then be used for payment when ordering your books from the UAF Bookstore website.

A payment plan or textbook loan requires a formal contract between you and the university. You must be registered for your classes prior to the approval of your contract.

Full details and forms for payment plans and textbook loans may be downloaded from the UAF Business Office website at www.uaf.edu/business/forms/, picked up in person at the Business Office, e-mailed, or faxed to you upon request. Questions may be directed to 907-474-7384 or business.office@uaf.edu.

If you are using a senior tuition waiver, do not register until the first day of instruction for each class. You must meet both age and residency requirements by one of the following dates to be eligible for the corresponding semester: Sept. 1 for fall; Jan. 1 for spring; May1 for summer. Reimbursements will not be made to senior citizens who pay for a course and then request a waiver.

Refunds

Tuition and Fees

Students who withdraw from courses or cancel enrollment must submit a completed official withdrawal form to the Registrar's Office. UAF may fully or partially refund undergraduate, graduate and non-resident tuition and fees. The following conditions apply:

  1. If UAF cancels a course, students' tuition and fees will be refunded in full.
  2. If a student formally withdraws from a course, UAF will make refunds according to the date of the withdrawal.
    1. If withdrawal is prior to or on the last day for late registration, UAF will refund 100 percent of tuition and fees. The parking decal fee will be refunded in full if the student returns the parking decal at the time of withdrawal.
    2. If withdrawal is within one week after the last day of late registration, UAF will refund 50 percent of tuition only. The parking fee will be returned in full (less $5) if the student returns the parking decal at time of withdrawal.
    3. If student withdraws from a class and adds another on the same day through the fourth Friday of the semester, UAF will exchange tuition.
    4. NOTE: If the exchange is uneven — e.g., lower level to upper level, or 3 credits to 4 credits — tuition is owed and due the same day.

    5. If withdrawal is after the fourth Friday of the semester, no refund or exchange of tuition is available.
  1. If a student withdraws within five working days of the first class meeting, UAF will refund 100 percent of tuition and fees.
  2. If a student withdraws within six to 10 working days of the first class meeting, UAF will refund 50 percent of tuition only.
  3. If a student withdraws on or after the 11th working day after the first class meeting, no refund or exchange of tuition is available.

Refund Processing Timeline

  1. The date the drop/withdraw is processed by the Registrar's Office determines eligibility for a refund. The credit amount on a student schedule bill/receipt given by the Registrar's Office at the time of the drop may not be correct; changes may occur during the audit process.
  2. For evening or weekend classes, the drop must be processed the next working day for the refund to apply.
  3. A student whose registration is canceled as a result of disciplinary action forfeits all rights to a refund of any portion of tuition and fees.
  4. If a student's registration is canceled by a faculty-initiated drop/withdraw, the refund will be based on the date of the drop/withdraw and the policy described in a, b or c above.
  5. If you paid fees by personal check, any refund to which you may be entitled will be processed 30 days after your check has been deposited. The 30-day wait will be suspended if you provide proof that your check has cleared your bank.
  6. If you owe a debt to the university, any credits resulting from your drop/withdraw will be applied to that debt.
  7. Students who receive any type of external funding, including financial aid, may have their refunds applied to the external funding source. In the case of financial aid, the refund will be applied according to federal regulations.
  8. Vocational/technical course fees are subject to this refund schedule.
  9. Summer Sessions refund policy is separate and is found in the Summer Sessions catalog.
  10. In case the operations of UAF are adversely affected by war, riot, natural act, action of civil authority, strike or other emergency or condition, the university reserves the right to take action to curtail part or all of its operations, including action to cancel classes and action to discontinue services. In any case in which a significant curtailment is judged proper by UAF, the university's liability is limited to (at most) a refund of tuition and fees paid.

Appeal for Refund of Tuition

Appeals for refund of tuition are exceptions to policy and are only allowed in exceptional cases. Approval is not automatic, and you need to provide documented evidence to support your request. Acceptable serious and compelling reasons may include: 1) death in immediate family; 2) serious illness or injury of student or immediate family; and 3) factors outside of student's control (for example, major employment change, fire, flood). Failure to comply with published deadlines or regulations is not a serious and compelling reason to seek a refund and will not be approved.

Appeals for refund of tuition must be submitted within 30 class days after the beginning of the next regular semester. Forms for an appeal for refund of tuition are available online at www.uaf.edu/business/forms/ or through the Business Office in Signers' Hall at the Fairbanks campus or through local campus student services offices. Once received, the appeal will be evaluated by a campus-wide committee which will return a decision to the student. The decision of the committee is final and a student who files a written appeal under these procedures shall be expected to abide by the final disposition of the review, as provided, and may not seek further appeal of the matter under any other procedure within the university. Submission of appeals and appropriate documentation after published deadlines will not be considered. Contact the UAF Business Office for additional information.

Housing

Students who move off campus or withdraw from the university will receive room refunds according to the schedule.

Any refund of room charges will be based upon the days remaining in the semester. A $75 service charge will be subtracted from each refund of meal plan charges, regardless of the date of withdrawal. No refunds are available after the 12th week of the semester.

Meals

Please refer to your board plan agreement for specific information about meal plan refunds.


Catalog contents | Class schedule | Admissions

Send comments or questions to the UAF Admissions Office.
Last modified November 29, 2010 by Marketing and Communications web developer.