Cooperative Extension Service

Created in 1930 as a department within the Alaska Agricul-tural College and School of Mines, the UAF Cooperative Extension Service is part of the largest informal education system in the world, connecting extension programs at land-grant colleges and universities in every U.S. territory and state.

UAF’s public service and community engagement role is filled in part by Extension faculty and staff located in Anchorage, Bethel, Delta Junction, Fairbanks, Glennallen, Juneau, Kodiak, Nome, Palmer, Sitka and Soldotna, and in affiliate offices with the Tanana Chiefs Conference, Eielson Air Force Base, Thorne Bay and the Delta Mine Training Center.

As the state’s gateway to its university system, Extension serves some 60,000 Alaskans annually, providing a link between Alaska’s diverse people and communities by interpreting and extending relevant research-based knowledge in an understandable and usable form to the public.

Major program areas include agriculture and natural resources, community resource and economic development, home economics and consumer science, 4-H youth development, and housing and energy.

Extension offers hundreds of publications, written and produced by university faculty members, which contain practical information of interest to Alaska residents. Many publications are free and are available online.

For more information call (907) 474-5211, toll-free at (877) 520-5211, or visit online at

Catalog Index | Class Schedule | Admissions

Send comments or questions to the UAF Admissions Office.
The University of Alaska Fairbanks is an AA/EO employer and educational institution and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
Photos by UAF photographers unless otherwise noted.

Last modified August 31, 2017 by University Relations web developer.