Date Instructor Topic
5-Sep TL Introduction to ARSC & HPC
10-Sep ON Introduction to Linux / Semester Project
12-Sep TL Data Management / Unix Scripting
17-Sep TL Introduction to Fortran, Part 1
19-Sep TL Introduction to Fortran, Part 2 (Lab session)
24-Sep TL Introduction to PACMAN and Fish Supercomputers
26-Sep TL Makefiles (Lab session)
1-Oct TL Viz 1: Basic Visualization Tools
3-Oct TL Performance Programming Part I Part II
8-Oct TL Performance Programming Part III / Debugging
10-Oct TL Profiling and Introduction to CrayPat
15-Oct TL Parallel Processing Concepts & Parallel Shared Memory Programming, Part 1
17-Oct TL Parallel Shared Memory Programming, Part 2
22-Oct TL Parallel Shared Memory Programming, Part 3 (Lab session)
24-Oct SM Viz 2: Visualization Overview and Graphics Formats
29-Oct SM Viz 3: Animation 101 (Lab session)
31-Oct DM Parallel Programming Application (Example)
5-Nov TL --- MIDTERM EXAM ---
7-Nov DN Validation & Verification
12-Nov --- CANCELLED
14-Nov --- CANCELLED
19-Nov TL Parallel Distributed Memory Programming, Part 1
21-Nov TL Parallel Distributed Memory Programming, Part 2
26-Nov TL Introduction to Co-Array Fortran
28-Nov --- Thanksgiving Holiday
3-Dec RT GPGPU Programming
5-Dec KH Version Control Systems
10-Dec DN Giving Effective Presentations
12-Dec --- Open Session - Project Work
17-Dec TL -- Final Presentations - Time TBD --
Key Instructor Position E-mail Office Phone Ext
DM Don Morton Research Professor Don.Morton@alaska.edu WRRB 105 8679
DN David Newman Professor of Physics denewman@alaska.edu REIC 112 7858
KH Kate Hedstrom Oceanographic Specialist kshedstrom@alaska.edu WRRB 105 8678
ON Oralee Nudson User Consultant onudson@alaska.edu WRRB 105 8637
RT Bob Torgerson HPC Systems Analyst rltorgerson@alaska.edu WRRB 105 8694
SM Sergei Maurits HPC Specialist samaurits@alaska.edu WRRB 105 8697
TL Tom Logan Associate Faculty talogan@alaska.edu Elvey 511-G 5789
Back to Top