Alaska Quaternary Center

373 Reichardt Building
900 Yukon Dr.
PO Box 75-5940
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Fairbanks, AK 99775-5940

Phone: (907) 474-5433
Fax: (907) 474-5101
E-mail: mjwooller@alaska.edu


People


CURRENT BOARD

• Director: Matthew Wooller,, Alaska Quaternary Center, UAF
• Community Representative: Jeff Rasic <Jeff_Rasic@nps.gov>, National Park Service
• Agency Representative: De Anne Stevens, Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys
• Emeritus Representative: Sathy Naidu, Institute of Marine Science, UAF
• Anchorage representative: Owen Mason <geoarch@ptialaska.net>, Geoarch Alaska, UAA
• Marine Science Representative:  TBA - currently vacant
• Social Science Representative: Claire Alix, Alaska Quaternary Center, UAF
• Life Science Representative: Link Olson, IAB, UAF & and Museum of the North
• Physical Science Representative: Pat Druckenmiller, UAF & and Museum of the North
• Student Representative: Ben Gaglioti <bvgaglioti@alaska.edu> , Biology and Wildlife, UAF


FACULTY AND STAFF WITH QUATERNARY INTERESTS

Claire Alix: Wood and charcoal identification, wood use, Arctic archaeology and ethnoarchaeology
Val Barber: Forest Sciences
Kenneth A. Barrick: Physical geography, mountain environments
Sue Ann Bowling: Pleistocene climatology, meteorology
Mary E. Edwards: Vegetation history, biogeography, climate history
Sarah Fowell: Palynology and biostratigraphy
• S. Craig Gerlach, <scgerlach@alaska.edu>: Zooarcheology, taphonomy, Holocene environments
• William D. Harrison, <harrison@gi.alaska.edu>: Glaciology, terrestrial and subsea permafrost
Patricia Heiser: Quaternary geology and landscapes
Glenn P. Juday: Ecology of northern forests
• Dale Guthrie, <rdguthrie@alaska.edu>: Ecology and evolution of Quaternary mammals, natural history of paleolithic art, ecological archaeology
David R. Klein: Evolutionary ecology and management of northern ungulates
• Andrea Krumhardt: Palynology, conodont biostratigraphy and carbonate sedimentology
Paul Layer: AR40-39 dating of Quaternary lavas and tephras
Daniel H. Mann: Geomorphology, glacial geology, paleoecology
• Owen K. Mason <geoarch@ptialaska.net>: Coastal geomorphology, geoarcheology, alluvial history
• Paul Matheus <matheus@northwestel.net>: Paleoecology of Quaternary mammals, stable isotope ecology, radiocarbon dating, bone chemistry
C. Peter McRoy: Marine ecology, biological oceanography
• David F. Murray , <dfmurray@alaska.edu> : Plant geography, plant systematics, circumpolar flora
Chien-Lu Ping: Soil genesis, classification, paleosols
Ben Potter: Paleoindian archaeology, paleoecology of interior Alaska
Jennifer Reynolds:  Submarine volcanism and sea floor mapping
• David Stone: Paleomagnetism and tectonics